Four questions hiding in one list
FAR Part 16 itself houses pricing arrangements, indefinite-delivery arrangements, Letter Contracts and agreements side by side, so the confusion has an official source. A single contract can be an Indefinite-Quantity Contract, priced Cost-Plus-Fixed-Fee on some line items and Firm-Fixed-Price on others, awarded after full and open competition. Asking whether it is "an IDIQ or a cost-plus" has no answer, because it is both.
The rules underneath the vocabulary have also moved since late 2025. DOW now works from the Revolutionary FAR Overhaul text by class deviation, awards of $100 million or more that are not fixed-price now generally need head-of-agency approval, and the small business programs, the CSO statute and the experimentation authorities all changed.
What the paper answers
- What separates the instrument, the vehicle, the pricing and the selection, and how do the answers constrain one another?
- Which ninth-character code in a contract number marks an IDIQ, an order, a BOA or a CSO?
- When does a seat on a multiple-award vehicle commit money, and how much?
- Which parties can bind the government, and which roles only sound as if they can?
- How do the six Adaptive Acquisition Framework pathways and the type and route of money sit above an individual award?
- Which common phrases, from "It's an OTA" to "the ceiling is the value," mislead, and what should replace them?
A look inside
The decoder at the center of the paper. Every row may legitimately read "not stated" or "not yet determined."
| Field | Question it answers | Typical answers |
|---|---|---|
| Q1 Instrument or relationship | What legal instrument or relationship is involved, between which parties, and which way does value flow? | FAR/DFARS procurement contract; research or prototype Other Transaction, or a follow-on production award; grant; Cooperative Agreement; CRADA; license; facility-use agreement. An interagency agreement or an FMS letter of offer is between governments; the company's own instrument is the resulting contract |
| Q2 Vehicle: ordering and form | Is this a stand-alone award, a base arrangement, admission to a pool, or a specific order or project? | Definite-Quantity Contract; IDIQ and its Task or Delivery Orders; BPA call; BOA order; consortium project award; Letter Contract |
| Q3 Pricing: price, payment and cost risk | Who bears cost risk, how is price set, and when is the performer paid? | Firm-Fixed-Price; Fixed-Price Incentive; Cost-Plus-Fixed-Fee; Time-and-Materials; OT payable milestones |
| Q4 Selection: access and evaluation | Who may participate, how are they invited, how are submissions evaluated, and on what basis if there is no competition? | Set-aside; RFP, RFQ or IFB; BAA; CSO; fair opportunity; tradeoff or LPTA; justified sole source |
| Context A The program | Is the effort managed under an Adaptive Acquisition Framework pathway, and which one? | Urgent Capability; Middle Tier; Major Capability; Software; Defense Business Systems; Acquisition of Services; outside a formal acquisition program (a conclusion to check, not a default); not stated |
| Context B The money | What pays for it, and how does the money reach the contract? | Fund type: appropriated funds (RDT&E, Procurement, O&M, MILCON), a Working Capital Fund, FMS case funds or Nonappropriated Funds. Route: direct funding, reimbursable order or direct citation |
Table 1 from the paper. The Decoder.
What's inside
- A one-page map of award vocabulary, and a table showing where each strategy in Warfighting Acquisition University's Contracting Cone lands in the frame.
- Term tables for every question and context, 166 terms in all: a plain definition, a Careful note on where readers go wrong, the clues that identify it on a SAM.gov notice or award, and its legal authority.
- Five teaching-example notices worked through field by field, from a Task Order request to an OT consortium project call, plus an SBIR Phase III case.
- Twelve misleading phrases corrected, and five notes from the author drawn from his own work with companies and government customers.
- A companion mind map that shows the frame at a glance, and 110 references grouped into statutes, regulations and policy, and reference publications.
Current through the 2026 changes
The paper is written against the text contracting officers use today, including:
- The Revolutionary FAR Overhaul Part 16 class deviation, effective March 16, 2026, and RFO 16.104 implementing Executive Order 14402
- The FY2026 NDAA changes to the CSO statute, facility construction OTs under 10 U.S.C. 2808a and the section 873 combatant command experimentation authority
- The January 2026 review of small business set-aside and 8(a) sole-source awards above $20 million, and the September 2026 SBA rule on 8(a) eligibility
- The September 2026 proposed rules on FAR Parts 16, 17 and 35 and on Federal Supply Schedule ordering
Who it's for
- Business development and capture leads who need to read a notice correctly before committing proposal resources.
- Small business owners and technical founders new to DOW contracting language.
- Engineers and technical leads at companies working alongside warfare centers and program offices.
- Government customers and requirements owners who have a real need but little contracting experience.
About the author
Chris A. Grable is founder and CEO of Up Doppler Consulting LLC, a Veteran-Owned Small Business in Leonardtown, Maryland. A Navy veteran with more than 45 years in DOW operations and acquisition, he retired from federal service as Senior Experiment Designer at the Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division. UDC helps technology companies find, shape and win DOW work.
Public sources
These public references support the paper. Some repositories require navigation or an account to reach the specific document.
- FAR Part 16 (Revolutionary FAR Overhaul text), Types of Contracts, including section 16.104
- Office of the Assistant Secretary of War (Acquisition and Sustainment), Class Deviation 2026-O0045, Revolutionary FAR Overhaul Part 16, with DFARS Part 216 and PGI 216, effective March 16, 2026
- 10 U.S.C. § 3458, commercial solutions opening authority, subsections (a) and (d)(1), as amended by Pub. L. 119-60, § 1823, December 18, 2025
- FAR Part 4 (Revolutionary FAR Overhaul text), Administrative and Information Matters, section 4.201 (procurement instrument identifiers)
- U.S. Government Accountability Office, B-318046, Library of Congress: Obligation of Guaranteed Minimums for Indefinite-Delivery, Indefinite-Quantity Contracts under the FEDLINK Program, July 7, 2009
- Federal Acquisition Regulation 1.602-1, Authority (contracting officers)
- Secretary of War, Memorandum, Contract Review of All Small Business Sole-Source and Set-Aside Awards Above $20 Million in Contract Value, January 16, 2026 (OSD014337-25), copy posted by National Public Radio
- Small Business Administration, Reforms to 13 CFR 124.103 To Remove SBA's 8(a) Program's Rebuttable Presumption of Social Disadvantage for Individually Owned Firms Only, final rule, 91 FR 51568, August 11, 2026, effective September 10, 2026
Three ways to get it
This paper
The full paper as a PDF. After payment, sign in at portal.updoppler.com/papers/ with your checkout email to download it.
Buy the paperClosing Rate, yearly
This paper and every other UDC paper as a PDF, plus every Closing Rate analysis. Less than the price of three papers.
Subscribe yearlyClosing Rate, monthly
The same access as the yearly plan, paid month to month.
Subscribe monthlyNeed the research tools as well? updoppler.com Tools includes the full UDC paper library along with the Federal Forecast Explorer and the DOW Acquisition Command Map. See all plans.
Questions
- Is this an official government taxonomy?
- No. The four questions and two contexts are a UDC teaching device built on public material from the Warfighting Acquisition University. Each component tracks distinctions drawn in statute, the FAR, assistance law, Other Transaction guidance and the Adaptive Acquisition Framework.
- Is the Field Guide to Award Vocabulary included?
- Yes. Your $85 purchase includes this paper and its companion Field Guide, which presents the same framework as illustrated cards with an A-to-Z finder. Sign in at portal.updoppler.com/papers/ with your checkout email to download both.
- Is this legal advice?
- No. The solicitation and the regulation it cites govern any particular procurement.
- I already subscribe to Closing Rate. Do I need to buy it?
- No. Paid Closing Rate subscribers get the full PDF with the Closing Rate article.
- Can I talk to someone about a specific opportunity?
- Yes. Contact Up Doppler Consulting.

